The PHL has confirmed its official list of team sponsors for the inaugural event, which gets underway at the Randburg Astro, this Saturday, 3rd September 2016.

Alongside Grays and Tsogo Sun, who are the official technical apparel and hotel partners of SAHA respectively, ten other brands are involved in the inaugural event – as sponsors of individual teams.

“We are delighted by the number of brands that have bought into our vision for this new elite hockey event. The most exciting aspect is the mix of sponsors – FMCG, online property retail, medical and personal grooming brands all feature prominently. It shows the diverse audience that hockey in South Africa attracts and bodes very well for the future.” said Marissa Langeni, CEO of SAHA.

The confirmed list of team sponsors (and the teams they are sponsoring) is as follows: 

Women’s Teams:

Sponsor Brand

PHL Team

Nestle Pure Life

Blyde River Bunters

Ezee Tile

Madikwe Rangers

Lip Ice

Namaqualand Daisies


Orange River Rafters

Young Solutions

St Lucia Lakers

Private Property

Wineland Wings

Men’s Teams:

Sponsor Brand

PHL Team


Addo Elephants

Tsogo Sun

Drakensberg Dragons


Garden Route Gazelles

Private Property

Golden Gate Gladiators


Mapungwe Mambas


Maropeng Cavemen

On Monday it was announced that SuperSport had concluded an exclusive five year deal to broadcast selected matches from the PHL. For the 2016 event, 24 of the 40 PHL games, including all semi-finals and both finals, will be broadcast live across all SuperSport platforms, including television, mobile and online – throughout Sub-Saharan Africa. A further eight PHL games will be streamed exclusively live via the SuperSport website and will be repeated, on a delayed basis, on selected SuperSport broadcast channels.

Thanks to support and investment from the Department of Sport & Recreation, the inaugural PHL event will be hosted at the Randburg Astro, Johannesburg and will consist of both a men’s and women’s league that will run over four weekend’s – from Saturday 3rd September to Sunday 25th September 2016 (inclusive).

The PHL forms a key part of the SAHA high performance pipeline which is aimed at better equipping our national men’s and women’s teams for international competition in future. To this end the PHL will be the very first Hockey League in the world where all the women participating will be paid to play the game.

How the PHL Works:

The inaugural event consists of six men’s teams and six women’s teams, respectively, playing in two gender based competitions. These teams are all franchise teams that are 100% owned by SAHA.

The team identities have been inspired by famous tourist areas in South Africa and are representative of all nine Provinces. In 2016, two of the twelve participating teams will be the SA u21 Men’s and SA u21 Women’s National teams, respectively. This is to prepare our national age group teams for the FIH Junior World Cups which take place later this year. The SA u21 Men’s team will play as the Private Property Golden Gate Gladiators and the SA u21 Women’s team will play as the Lip Ice Namaqualand Daisies.

Event Structure and Format:

The event consists of a league stage and a play-off stage where each team will play each other once in the league stage. This means each team will play five games.

At the end of the league stage, the teams who finish fifth and sixth in the log, will have a play-off to determine who places fifth and sixth in league. The top four teams

in the log will progress to the semi-finals. The losing semi-finalists will play-off for third and fourth respectively and the winning semi-finalists will progress to the finals of the men’s and women’s competitions.

For more information about the PHL, please visit: