The South African Hockey U21 sides have been named for the Senior IPT in Western Cape in October. This will be a massive opportunity for the Mens and Women's side to test themselves ahead of their respective Junior World Cups. The SA U21 Men will be heading to India for their tournament, while the SA U21 Women will be hosting the first ever African World Cup in Potchefstroom in December. 

For the SA U21 Men the side showed during the CTM Showdown against the Olympic Mens Squad that they were ready for battle and would make South Africa immensely proud. Grant Morgan will continue to lead the team and likes of Peter Jarvis and Jared Campbell will be massive support. For a team that showed such amazing spirit in the CTM Showdown, there is no doubt the boys will be itching to get into action. 

The Women did not have the opportunity of the CTM Showdown and its been a long time for them to have played together with the likes of PHL and IPT both being impacted by the global pandemic. The opportunity to also play in a local tournament is no doubt a massively exciting one and the players selected for IPT will be desperate to make sure their foot is on the, um, bus for the finals in Potchefstroom. 

There are a number of players with International experience including Olympians Thati Zulu and Edith Molikoe (Who also has 30 caps for the National indoor side), while Bianca Wood will be desperate to show the form she showed when Lenise Marais led the U18 side to a series victory over Australia. 

SA U21 Hockey Men - IPT Squad

Taine Bird, Sihle Ngcongo, Cody Posthumus, Zenani Kraai, Josh Davies, Guy Morgan (c),  Jacques van Tonder, Senswesihle Ngubane, Matt Dewar, Aiden Tun, Niel Raath, Peter Jarvis (vc), Trevor de Lora, Marvin Simons, Jared Campbell (vc), Luke Wynford, Cameron le Forestier & Idrees Abdulla

SA U21 Hockey Women - IPT Squad

Laylaa Davids, Kayla de Waal, Jean-Leigh du Toit, Mishka Ellis, Chante Ferreira, Sare Laubscher, Mikkela Le Roux, Hanrie Louw, Edith Molikoe, Jacolene McLaren, Christa Ramasimong, Nepo Serage, Jeanri Thomas, Charmain Theron, Angela Welham, Zimkhitha Weston, Bianca Wood & Thati Zulu